Graco Children's Products is recalling more th...
On Mother's Day, our annual educational circul...
A beautiful rocking boat ride-on for children ...
Florida’s Safe Haven Law for Newborns
Did you know that Florida parents who feel they cannot keep an infant can anonymously leave their baby at a Safe Haven in the first 7 days of the baby's life? You can leave your baby, up to 7 days old, with an employee at any hospital, emergency medical services station or with a fire fighter at any fire station in Florida. Keep reading for more information and resources.

If you have given birth and don't know how you will raise a baby, please do not panic and abandon your baby!  There is a better option.  

Safe haven laws were enacted in Florida in response to the tragedy resulting from abandonment of newborns. The safe haven law is a safety net which allows parents to abandon their unharmed newborns not more than a week old at any safe haven facility recognized by the state laws without fear of prosecution.

If you would like to talk to someone about Safe Haven, call a toll free hotline:

  • 1-888-510-BABY (2229) or
  • 1-877-767-BABY (2229) for help in English, Spanish, or Creole 

Here are some web sites with further information.  

Remember, you can leave your baby, up to 7 days old, with an employee at any hospital, emergency medical services station or with a fire fighter at any fire station in Florida.

In Florida, no one ever has to abandon an infant again.

Florida Keys Healthy Start Coalition Inc